2017 Awards Banquet

The Better Sports Club of Arlington hosted its 61st Annual Awards Banquet on June 7 recognizing the most outstanding male and female athletes in county high school sports as well as outstanding performers in youth sports. The individuals were recognized for conduct, dedication and competitive attitude on the field of play and conduct and character off the field. Emphasis was placed on character, leadership, cooperation and dedication, as well as athletic ability, in selecting these outstanding young people.

Arlington High School Awards

Female High School Student-Athlete of the Year – Anna Polise

Male High School Student-Athlete of the Year – Jake Karton

Baseball Sportsman of the Year – Andy Colllins

Girls Basketball Sportswoman of the Year – Summer Matlack

Boys Basketball Sportsman of the Year – Alan Treakle

Girls Crew Sportswoman of the Year – Isabel Rogers

Boys Crew Sportsman of the Year – Colin Dorsey

Girls Cross Country Sportsman of the Year – Julia Sachs

Boys Cross Country Sportsman of the Year – Luke Brinkmann

Dance Sportswoman of the Year – Megan Grieco

Field Hockey Sportswoman of the Year – Maura Shapiro

Football Sportsman of the Year – Christian Cleaveland

Girls Golf Sportswoman of the Year – Bridget Hart

Gymnastics Sportswoman of the Year – Olivia Zavrel

Ice Hockey Sportsman of the Year – Ben Stanley

Girls Lacrosse Sportswoman of the Year – Cate Farmer

Boys Lacrosse Sportsman of the Year – Steven Picot

Rifle Sportsperson of the Year – Megan Johnson

Girls Soccer Sportswoman of the Year – Annabel Campbell

Boys Soccer Sportsman of the Year – Christopher Palacios

Softball Sportswoman of the Year – Patty Maye Ohanian

Girls Swim and Dive Sportswoman of the Year – Evie Gieseman

Boys Swim and Dive Sportsman of the Year – Jacob Kreider

Girls Tennis Sportswoman of the Year – Valerie Marshall

Boys Tennis Sportsman of the Year – Tate Arevalo

Girls Track and Field Sportswoman of the Year – Laura Ramirez

Boys Track and Field Sportsman of the Year – Benedict Draghi

Volleyball Sportswoman of the Year – Maxine Friedman

Wrestling Sportsman of the Year – Gage Backstrom

Arlington Youth Program Awards

Youth Softball Sportsmanship Award – Emily Keefe

Youth Baseball Sportsmanship Award – Nathan Knowles

Youth Challenger Sportsmanship Award – Simon Keeling