Meet the Better Sports Club of Arlington







The Better Sports Club of Arlington is a nonprofit community organization founded in 1957 “to promote useful citizenship through the medium of sports.” The Better Sports Club is dedicated to serving Arlington youth and to fostering the principle of fair play, good sportsmanship, a competitive spirit, tolerance, and friendship.

Club membership is open to women and men over the age of 18 who share the club’s goals, without regard to race, religion, ethnicity or personal orientation.

After its founding, the club and its many energetic members helped to form and manage many of Arlington’s recreational youth sports programs in cooperation with Arlington County Government.

Since then, the club has continued to provide financial support to various youth sports programs, support made possible by ongoing fundraising efforts, in particular our annual Christmas Tree Lot at Columbia Pike and South George Mason Drive (a partnership effort with the Arlington South Lions Club).

The highlight of the club’s year is the Annual Awards Banquet. We are privileged to have the opportunity to recognize Arlington’s outstanding student-athletes for their leadership, scholarship, and citizenship – in addition to their athletic achievements.

Nominations are solicited from the youth sports organizations in Arlington County and from the Directors of Student Activities or Athletics at the four high schools located in Arlington. All nominees must reside in Arlington County or attend a school located in Arlington.

Other Banquet highlights include the presentation of awards to the Coach of the Year and Adult Sportsman of the Year. The Billy Castleberry Award is a special honor presented by the club president to an outstanding club member in recognition for extraordinary service to the club.

Past speakers for the Banquet include: Christine Brennan, Tom Dolan, Charles “Lefty” Driesell, Craig Esherick, Frank Herzog, Frank Howard, Jeff Jones, Jim Larranaga, Ted Leonsis, Trevor Matich, Bobby Mitchell, Mark Mosely, Tom Penders, Eric Sievers, Enos Slaughter, Don Warren, Gary Williams, Mike Wise, Warner Wolf, Willie Wood, and Pete Wysocki.

The Arlington Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1958 to perpetuate the memory of Arlington athletes like the first inductee, baseball stalwart George McQuinn, and other sports figures who have demonstrated excellence in sports and/or who have provided outstanding leadership in youth sports programs. We are very pleased to include the Hall of Fame as a partner in our Banquet and other activities.

In addition to its charitable work, the Better Sports Club promotes collegiality among the Arlington sports community through its six dinner meetings held in February, March, April, September, October and November, plus a December Holiday Dinner-Dance.

Featured speakers during the past two years have included Marymount University’s women’s basketball star Katelyn Fischer and her coach, Ashlee Courter; Olympic marathoner Claire Hallissey; author Tim Wendel; USA Today sports writer Erik Brady; Super Bowl authority George Varoutsos; Washington Nationals TV commentator Phil Wood; and 2012 Coach of the Year Joe D’Emidio.

The club also organizes tailgate outings to Washington Nationals games, college basketball games, golf tournaments, and other sporting events. Annual dues are only $30. The club is administered by a Board of Governors that meets monthly.

We invite you to join us